CloudAlly backs up the following Google Workspace data:
- Drive* and
NOTE: Since Google moved Photos to a separate service in 2019, CloudAlly no longer backs up the Google Photos folder on the Google Drive.
What does CloudAlly not back up?
- CloudAlly only backs up data where the user performing the backup is the owner of the files. If someone has shared a file with you, CloudAlly does not back it up. Why not?
- Because then there would be multiple copies of the same file: the owner's version, and the people they shared it with.
- Additionally, there would be duplicate charges for the twice-backed up data.
- Finally, if the owner chose to remove sharing permissions, then they would not want you to have a backup copy of those files.
- In summary, CloudAlly only backs up data belonging to the person performing the backup.